Tuesday, December 17, 2013

First Chapter Review: Blue Christmas by Diane Moody

I downloaded this book for free to my Kindle last year. I haven't had time to read all of it, but I wanted to share the first chapter with you since it's a seasonal story.


Working late on Christmas Eve, college senior Hannah Brooks is in the midst of a full-blown pity party. When a last-minute customer brimming with holiday spirit invites her to a candlelight service and a late-night family dinner, Hannah reluctantly accepts. She has no idea this kindhearted woman is the mother of Jason McKenzie - lead singer of Out of the Blue, the hottest band in the country - and Hannah's childhood idol. The evening ends with an innocent kiss (sans mistletoe) as Hannah is swept away by Jason's unpretentious manner.

Over the holidays Hannah and Jason's relationship grows, but when turmoil and tragedy strike at the very heart of his famous band, their newfound love is put to the test in the glare of the paparazzi spotlight. Throughout her rollercoaster of experiences with Jason and his friends, Hannah comes face to face with her own beliefs. Who knew she could learn more about prayer and faith by hanging out with a bunch of rock stars than she ever learned in church?

COVER: Perfect. Love the color scheme and the concert setting that ties into the content.

FIRST CHAPTER: Stuck working on Christmas Eve, Hannah is feeling sorry for herself. When one of her regular customers invites her to a church service followed by a family dinner, she has no idea what she is getting herself into.

KEEP READING: Definitely. I loved this book right away. Moody drops you right into the moment with a funny scene at the grocery store, followed by the revelation of Hannah's plight--being alone for Christmas. Just the right amount of internal thought and detail keeps Blue Christmas moving along at a swift, but comfortable pace. I've already cheated and read the next chapter.

Paperback: 332 pages
Publisher: Old Barn Trace Books (October 27, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0615550584
ISBN-13: 978-0615550589


This book was a free Kindle download. This review contains my honest opinion, which I have not been compensated for in any way.

No comments: